The Artificer is a creator of magical items and devices. Unlike the abilities of other spellcasters, the Artificer is a master of magical creation superior to all magic-wielding characters. Although their roots lie in either arcane or divine magic, their talents lie in embedding such magic into useful tools, weapons, and especially their magical constructs and clockwork machines whose operation lies in the manipulation and containment of powerful magic.
Hit Die: d4
To qualify to become an Artificer, a character must fulfill all of the following criteria.
- Intelligence: 14
- Dexterity: 14
- Spells: Can cast 3rd level spells.
- Knowledge (Arcana): 5 ranks.
- Knowledge (Engineering): 5 ranks.
- Spellcraft: 5 ranks.
- Craft (Any) or Alchemy: 5 ranks.
- Feats: Craft Wonderous Item.
|1||+0||+0||+0||+2||+1 level of existing class||Animate Object|
|2||+1||+0||+0||+3||+1 level of existing class|
|3||+1||+1||+1||+3||+1 level of existing class||Efficient Progress 10%|
|4||+2||+1||+1||+4||+1 level of existing class||Bonus Feat|
|5||+2||+1||+1||+4||+1 level of existing class|
|6||+3||+2||+2||+5||+1 level of existing class||Efficient Progress 20%|
|7||+3||+2||+2||+5||+1 level of existing class||Bonus Feat|
|8||+4||+2||+2||+6||+1 level of existing class||Efficient Progress 30%|
|9||+4||+3||+3||+6||+1 level of existing class||Imbue with Intelligence|
|10||+5||+3||+3||+7||+1 level of existing class||Mastery of Creation, Efficient Progress 40%|
Bonus Feat Choices: Bonus feats attained must be either an item creation feat or Construct Familiar (Dragon #280).
The Artificer's class skills (and the key ability for each skill) are Alchemy (Int), Appraise (Int), Concentration (Con), Craft (Clockmaking) (Dex) [note], Craft (Int), Knowledge (Arcana) (Int), Knowledge (Engineering) (Int), Knowledge (Blacksmithing) (Int), Spellcraft (Int).
[note] This skill cannot be self-taught initially. The character must find a craftsman and be taught this skill (which can be in the character's background if this skill is taken at character creation). Gnomes gain a +2 racial circumstance bonus for any Craft (Clockwork Device) skill checks.
Skill points at Each Level: 3 + Int modifier. One point must be used in a Knowledge or Craft skill.
All of the following are features of the Artificer prestige class.
Weapon and Armor Proficiency
Artificers gain no new weapon or armor proficiencies.
The artificer continues study of magic as well as in her field of research. This, when a new Artificer level is gained, the character gains new spells per day as if she had also gained a level in a spellcasting class she belonged to before she added the prestige class. She does not, however, gain any other benefit a character of that class would have gained (improved chance of controlling or rebuking undead, metamagic or item creation feats, and so on). This essentially means that she adds the level of Artificer to the level of some other spellcasting class the character has, then determines spells per day.
For spells, feats, and other things that require a caster level, it is the level of Artificer added to the level of some other spellcasting class the character already had.
When progressing in Artificer, the character must determine which prior spellcasting class gets the bonus, and the bonus can't then be changed to another class later on. For instance, Ginny is a level 3 sorcerer and a level 5 wizard. When she obtains her next level, she applies the Artificer's +1 spell level bonus to her sorcerer class, so she now gains a second level sorcerer spell slot. Later on, she levels again and adds her bonus to her wizard class. She is now a level 3 sorcerer, level 5 wizard, and a level 2 Artificer. She can cast as though she was a level 4 sorcerer and a level 6 wizard. She can not later change the Artificer bonus so she could cast spells as a level 3 sorcerer and a level 7 wizard.
The Artificer can animate objects as a spell-like ability. The total cubic feet of material affected is based on the character's total number of caster levels, plus any levels of Artificer. This ability can be used once per day per class level. Otherwise, this spell is identical to the Priest spell of the same name.
Due to her knowledge of magic items and the workings of constructing them, the Artificer reduces the time, XP, and materials cost by the listed amount. This bonus does not apply to Brew Potion or Scribe Scroll.
Imbue with Intelligence
Throughout her career, the arcane crafter delves constantly into the nature of magic item construction. She is fascinated by the interaction between cold, inanimate matter and the fire of pure magic. Finally, she masters the ultimate art in the craft of magic item creation. She can control awakening the intelligence within a magic item.
In game terms, the Artificer rolls on table 8-31 of Core Rulebook 2. To this roll she adds her primary casting attribute (Wis for Clerics, Rangers and Paladins; Int for Wizards; Cha for Sorcerers and Bards). From this point on, the Artificer directs the process to create an item of specific purpose and powers rather than rolling randomly on the tables. The Artificer follows the standard rules for intelligent item creation as outlined in Core Rulebook II, applying her normal cost reductions for Efficient Progress. The item must be specifically created for the purpose of imbuing it with intelligence -- this may not be done with an item already crafted.
Mastery of Creation
When the Artificer reaches 10th level, she is considered to be a master of construct creation. At this point, the Artificer is capable of creating any of the monsters listed in the Monster Manual as constructs. Creation time, costs, and other information is listed in the Encyclopaedia Arcane: Constructs.
The Artificer is also no longer limited to the number of feats and skills embedded in a clockwork construct. Her only limit is the expense of such creations and their size.
The Artificer can now also create minor artifacts, although attempting such an undertaking should take no less than one year. In addition, the DM should assign some sort of quest to acquire costly spell components, etc. Examples of minor artifacts appear in the Core Rulebook II. An Artificer ideally should not be able to create more than one or two artifacts in a lifetime, and not without great cost to herself.